Clayton R. Lusk

In 1919, the New York State Legislature established the Joint Legislative Committee to Investigate Seditious Activities. The committee consisted of four senators and five assemblymen and was headed by Senator Clayton R. Lusk so it became known as the "Lusk Committee." Lusk was a 1902 graduate of Cornell Law School and had only been in the legislature for two months. The Lusk Committee was granted broad power to investigate suspected radical organizations. Benjamin Gitlow and James Larkin were arrested during a Lusk Committee investigation. Photo from "State Service: An Illustrated Monthly Magazine Devoted to the Government of the State of New York and Its Affairs" published in 1918.