Dynamiters Take Train, Indianapolis

In February 1912, a federal grand jury in Indianapolis indicted fifty-four union men of which fifty-one were members of the International Association of Bridge and Structural Iron Workers (IABSIW) for a nationwide dynamite sabotage campaign which included the bombing of the Los Angeles Times. The indicted men included Frank Ryan, president of the IABSIW, its Secretary J.J. McNamara, Ortie McManigal, and other top officials and local officers of the IABSIW. Olav Tveitmoe was also indicted although he was not a member of the IABSIW. Of those indicted, forty-five actually went to trial in October 1912. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, LC-DIG-ggbain-12296