Jack London

Upton Sinclair and a group of prominent group socialists, including Jack London and Clarence Darrow, formed the Intercollegiate Socialist Society (ISS) in New York in 1905. Other founding members included James Graham Phelps Stokes, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, William English Walling, Thomas Wentworth Higginson, Leonard D. Abbott, B. 0. Flowers, and Oscar Lovell Triggs. The ISS was organized to promote the study and advocacy of socialism among college students and faculty members. The ISS changed its name to the League for Industrial Democracy in 1921. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, LC-DIG-ggbain-00675.